Bookmark and Share


Houston Psychiatric Society                                                                                          

John P. McGovern Building                                                                                  

1515 Hermann Drive  | Houston, TX  77004              

Phone:  713-524-4267                                                 

Fax:      713-526-1434      

2016 © All rights reserved.                                                             Privacy Policy   Terms & Conditions


Stuart Yudofsky, MD, is many things - an author, researcher, academic and pioneer in his field. He is also a compassionate advocate for patients dealing with mental illness. He and his colleagues hope to help destigmatize psychiatric disorders, and encourage family and patient involvement in mental health care. Click here for highlights on Dr. Yudofsky


“TSCAP’s Annual Meeting Successful and New Officers Installed”

During the Annual Membership Business Meeting of the Texas Society of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry on July 20, election results from the 2014 election were announced, as follows:

Dawnelle Schatte, M.D. (right), incoming TSCAP President, presents a plaque to

TSCAP President Rene Olvera, MD recognizing his outstanding service as preseident during FY 2013-2014.


“Faculty members honored with Regents’ teaching award”

Four Medical School faculty members have received The University of Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award, which recognizes those who deliver the highest quality of instruction in the classroom, the laboratory, the field or online. A total of nine faculty members from UTHealth were selected for this honor.

Faculty members were assessed on criteria including classroom expertise, curricula quality, innovative course development and student learning outcomes. A total of 39 new members from UT health institutions were elected this year.

UTHealth educates more health care professionals than any other health-related institution in Texas. The Medical School honoree of the Houston Psychiatric Society is:

Dr. Patricia Butler, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and vice dean for Educational Programs, is responsible for both the undergraduate and graduate medical education programs, as well as the continuing medical education program.

“My role as an educator has afforded me great personal reward and fulfillment. I am fortunate to work with outstanding faculty as we educate and prepare our students to provide exemplary patient care,” Butler wrote.

This article was originally published on the UTHealth Medical School website. For more information on Dr. Kao’s’ success, please visit the UTH website for more information.


New Officers Installed Federation of Texas Psychiatry

At the conclusion of the TSPP/TAP Spring meetings in Austin during the weekend of April 5-6, four organizations of the Federation installed new officers for fiscal year 2014-15.


Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians

President - Mark S. Jacobs, MD, Houston

President-Elect - Daniel B. Pearson, III, MD, Dallas

Secretary-Treasurer - Daryl K. Knox, MD, Houston

Immediate Past President - R. Andrew Harper, MD, Houston

Click here for more information and other Psychiatric organization elected officers.

New TSPP President Mark Jacobs, MD (left)

receives the President’s gavel from outgoing

President, R. Andrew Harper, MD


Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians elects Harper The University of Texas at Houston

Dr. Andrew Harper, chief medical officer of UT Harris County Psychiatric Center (UTHCPC), has been elected president-elect of the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians (TSPP).

“Dr. Harper’s election to the presidency of the TSPP is an honor for him, UTHCPC and the Department of Psychiatry,” said Dr. Jair Soares, UTHCPC CEO and chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.  “It is recognition of Dr. Harper’s contributions to patient care, clinical education of medical professionals in all disciplines, and his work in the community.”

Harper, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, also serves as assistant dean for educational programs. He received his medical degree from the Medical School, where he also completed residencies in psychiatry and child and adolescent psychiatry.

The Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians is dedicated to developing the highest quality of comprehensive psychiatric care for patients, families, and communities.

TSPPs objectives are to function in cooperation with, and as a component part of, the American Psychiatric Association:

For more information on Dr. Harper’s success, visit The University of Texas at Houston website.


Academy inducts new class of members  The University of Texas at Houston

Eight new members were inducted into the UTHealth Medical School’s Academy of Master Educators at Trevisio’s Nov. 25.

Dr. Margaret Uthman, associate dean for educational programs, welcomed new inductees and their guests, along with other academy members who were in attendance.

The Academy’s new members are: Dr. Michelle Barratt, professor of pediatrics; Dr. Pratik Doshi, assistant professor of emergency medicine; Dr. Richard Grimes, associate professor of internal medicine; Dr. Judianne Kellaway, professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences;  Dr. David Marshak, professor of neurobiology and anatomy; Dr. Joshua Samuels, associate professor of pediatrics; Dr. Dawnelle Schatte, assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences; and Dr. Jeffrey Spike, professor in the McGovern Center for Humanities and Ethics.

The Academy’s special guest speaker Dr. George Mejicano, professor of medicine and senior associate dean for education, School of Medicine, Oregon Health and Science University, offered celebratory and encouraging remarks to academy members, along with a synopsis of his Internal Medicine Grand Rounds presentation on “Evolution and Adaptation in Education.”

For more information on Dr. Schatte’s success, visit The University of Texas at Houston website.

UTHealth Medical School professors from the front (L-R):

Jeffrey Spike, Ph.D.; Judianne Kellaway, M.D.; Michelle Barratt, M.D., MPH; Dawnelle Schatte, M.D.;

From the back (L-R):Joshua Samuels, M.D., MPH; Richard Grimes, Ph.D.; David Marshak, Ph.D.; and Pratik Doshi, M.D.

were inducted into the Academy of Master Educators during a ceremony November 25, 2013 at Trevisio’s.

HPS Members